Posted by: Charity Stace | February 18, 2010

Nurse Stacey… among other things…

Ok… change of plans.

Change of many plans actually…

First off I am going to shy away from focusing in on just the thoughts of ‘Nurse’ Stacey. For starters, many shifts can go by where I don’t walk away deep in thought about anything other than how exhausted I am.  And not because I have worked so hard doing super cool nurse things but just trying to stay awake all night long watching my patient sleep while all the lights are turned down low leaves me fighting to stay awake. Sure, every hour I go in an measure urine, chest tube drainage, record vitals… maybe even send some blood work or change a soiled bed but those things can be pretty routine. Although what seems routine to me, and many other nurses can often seem foreign and maybe even disgusting to others.  But it’s what we do. And at the end of the shift I have to say that although it doesn’t amount to much in my books it does indeed make a difference in the life of that patient and all of us providing care. That’s the beauty of teamwork, and in our health care system we all have a role to play. Makes me wonder why it is that it always seems to be the nurses who are the first to go during an economical crisis. You will never hear that a doctor got laid off. Or that a big wig decided to accept less income to keep the hospital staffed.

Don’t get me wrong, I value and appreciate the role that doctors play in our team but the keyword here is team. But there’s that saying that goes, “None of us is as smart as all of us.” So true.  Each of us as players have our own qualities and wisdom that we bring on behalf of our profession. Ask any doctor what their life would be like without a nurse.  Or a nurse without a PSW. And so on…  I can’t stress enough how vital all of our roles are to the well-being of that patient right down to the staff who washes the walls to the staff who delivers the medications.

Hmm, I guess if you get me started anything can be thought provoking. But I digress…

Second change of plans is the Haiti itinerary. What I thought was going to be an eminent trip has been put off until what looks like April. The organization I am looking to travel with is in the process of arranging an immunization clinic and will be getting teams together when those details are finalized. I will indeed keep you posted. I have two colleagues, one who is in Haiti and one who will be leaving shortly. I just asked that you remember them in your prayers that they will be kept safe physically, mentally and spiritually. I have no doubts their lives will be changed while they are in the midst of changing lives.

Third I just wanted to announce to you (my five faithful followers) that I will be broadening my scope of blogging entries. I realize that this is basically the same as my ‘first off’ but I went off on a tangent so I wanted to circle back. Apart from being a nurse I am also a mother, sister, daughter, and friend (Keeso you can sneak into that sister category since I didn’t go into cousin, niece, granddaughter…). And since my work schedule has me only working four days out of nine why should you have to suffer and not hear from me until my next rotation begins?

Let me share with you a few examples from my ‘other’ life that I hope will keep you coming back for more:

A few years ago while traveling with my children we were in the Detroit airport and talking about the places we have visited and the fun we have had. This conversation was taking place while we were waiting in line to go through security at which point my son said to me, “We’re terrorists aren’t we mommy?”  What he had meant was TOURISTS. We were tourists. I blame his teacher.

I realize that isn’t the most recent example but it’s my blog and I can say what I want.  Well… Kinda (that was for you CB – haha)


Responses

  1. I just love to read your writing, so you can write whatever you like as far as I’m concerned!! 🙂

  2. This seems a wise choice. Will send an email.


Leave a comment

Categories