Posted by: Charity Stace | March 2, 2010

Eh! Oh Canada GOLD!

Celebrating with my Wingman!

So wow… did you watch any of the Olympics? If you didn’t why not?

I have had a few friends say they weren’t watching because the competition is too much to stomach. Fair enough, you are dismissed and we’ll keep you posted. But there have been a few others who believe that the Olympics are a waste of money. I thought about that for some time, wondering if I was missing something… but I after watching the sea of red and white, the tears of joy, the patriotism of fellow Canadians how could you deny it’s worth? In this day where it seems we are surrounded by grief, despair, and depression we needed these Olympics. Not just Canadians but each country represented pulled together to stand behind their athletes.

Ice hockey… first off, when women’s Team Canada beat Team USA  for GOLD there were many tears. Tears of joy from the red and white but also tears from team USA. Understandable but at one point their tears turned into pouts and I thought that was poor sportsmanship. When you can’t even muster up a smile and a thank you as a silver medal is being placed around your neck that is a problem. And I LOVE how the stadium, filled mostly with Canucks, started chanting ‘USA, USA!’ Way to try to build their spirits Canada! This is why I love our country. We don’t just love ourselves…

And where were you when Sid the Kid made the tie-breaking, Gold-winning goal? I was with my son , brother-in-law, and niece. My sister chose a very, very bad time to let her nervous bladder get the better of her. I can’t imagine what it must have been like to have committed to the entire game and seven minutes into the overtime decide the bladder can’t hold out anymore… I can still hear her screaming “What? What?” and coming running into the room as we screamed and cheered in victory! Before you ask… yes, she was looking like a fool with her pants on the ground.  Bahahaha just kidding!

I would be remiss if I didn’t mention Canada’s newest sweetheart, and a new personal hero, Joannie Rochette. Here is a woman who just 2 days after losing her mother skates with grace and strength. With the support of not just her country but an entire world. Did you cry when she finished her short skate and her tears came? Or how about when she took the bronze, did a victory lap with the Canadian flag then ended up in her father’s arms? I read this comment posted by a 10 year old on her blog:

Joannie, I just wanted to say I am sad with you. I am 10 years old and my mom has been taking me to skating lessons and competitions and I always need her there. I can’t believe that you did your skate in Vancouver so good. You make me believe I can be strong too. I think you helped a lot of kids who skate, but also those in other sports or even those just needing to find strength for their problems. YOU are my HERO! I LOVE YOU!

My heart goes out to Joannie and yet simultaneously bursts with pride for her. Joannie Rochette is truly an inspiration. I’m so happy that she represented the Canadian flag during closing ceremonies because she made it about so much more than the sport. Well done.

And I now know what mogul is thanks to Alexandre Bilodeau, another inspirational story. Okay, truth be told I actually don’t know what mogul is but I certainly know who Alexandre Bilodeau is. Our first Gold medal on home soil! And to give so much credit to his brother, who has cerebral palsy was heartwarming.

There were so many amazing moments! What was your favorite?


Responses

  1. I’ve discovered that I love women’s curling. I watched CTV coverage and thought they did a wonderful job of covering lots of events and telling heart warming stories and loved all the on the spot commercials. I loved women and mens ice hockey….the skating…the wacky snowboard stuff…you name it and I sat there transfixed.


Leave a comment

Categories