Posted by: Charity Stace | August 24, 2010

Haiti – Cite Soleil… Feels Like Home

Week Three has begun and this week my assignment is Cite Soleil! What a happy reunion that was  🙂  I practically flew out of the van and into the welcoming arms of all the interpreters who has been waiting to see me for the past 2 weeks. It felt like coming home.

But I’ll tell more about that after I tell you about my day yesterday. Another beach day! This time we went to a beach called Indigo which incidentally used to be a Club Med. It was gorgeous…. and CLEAN! I spent the day swimming in the ocean and resting under a straw hut, then more swimming, resting… and repeat. And when we got back to the compound everyone who looked at me did a double take because of the pretty shade of red my skin had turned. But it was worth it. The week has been exhausting, both emotionally and physically and a day of recuperating was just what the doctor ordered.

Last night for church I shared my life story, in the condensed version. And basically the end of the story was filled with hope. And renewed joy. In my awkward way I tried to encourage them that although we go through many valleys and it may seem that nothing is going the way it should that God is still in control. And hanging on to excess luggage is not only going to slow down their journey but it also makes a mockery of the cross. The majority of the people working here are signed on for a year at a time, with the exception of the medical team who do short terms of 2 weeks. Although my heart would love to be here for that length of time I can’t imagine how draining it must be, and even how frustrating to be in a country where the need seems to far outweigh the supply.

So sidebar… I have 2 canker sores in my mouth. BRUTAL. I have not been able to eat the past 2 days. And it’s not like I can run out to the closest Shopper’s and pick up some orajel or something to rinse my mouth with. I have been gargling with salt water and popping ibuprofen like it’s candy. They are very painful and I am even having a hard time smiling – which sucks since I just gave testimony about joy! And now I am walking around looking like I am on the verge of tears. And all I can think about is the story from a few years ago where someone ate a taco that had a cockroach in it and that roach laid eggs in the mouth. It was probably untrue but just the same… I’ve been pretty paranoid. I think the tarantulas did me in!

Anyway Cite Soleil… ahhhhhh. What a love I have in my heart for this city. For the people. For the interpreters and staff at the clinic. And even through all the ‘manifestations’, as our security team likes to call it, I have felt nothing but peace and calm. I know that this is where I am meant to be. It helps having an AMAZING security team that literally spends day and night keeping eyes and ears alert for danger zones. Please pray that I will not have to miss one day in Cite Soleil this week! I would hate to miss even a moment with my friends…

Before I left home for Haiti I had a brilliant idea that I would get stories of the people and post them. This has failed me for a few reasons: When I am working at clinic, either mobile or Cite Soleil, I am dedicated to that work. It is not the time to pause so I can get my camera and record their conversation with my camera in their face. Also because we have been having awful internet connections because of all the tropical storms it has slowed down our connection considerably. But I have been collecting stories as I go and capturing some videos which I will share with anyone who wants to listen when I get home.

Joany and Steve, if you are reading this Gary wants to know when are you coming back to see your brother?!

Ok my friends… I am going to go see if there is any pudding in the kitchen and then have a nice cold shower before bed. (not that there is any other option)

One Love xoxo


Responses

  1. Hello Stacey (lacy) .. Your Mom gave me your address and I thought I would leave a note.The work you are doing is just wonderful and I know you are finding it very rewarding. The hope and inspiration you give is obvious from your letters (notes) and yet the sadness at the circumstances must be horrendous. We are very proud of you. Nothing on the home front has changed very much in your absence but thats London. When are we ever going to meet again? Hope to see you soon… Dick Middleton


Leave a comment

Categories