Posted by: Charity Stace | August 25, 2010

Haiti – A Lesson in Humility

Back to Cite Soleil today…  My happy place. I gave the rest of the MP3 players to the interpreters and they were completely over the moon! They send many thanks and as soon as I am home with a stable internet connection I will post them for you all to see.

Sidebar… I ate Goat for supper tonight. They don’t use goat for cheese or milk which seems like such a waste of a perfectly fine resource. But they grill it. And it was delicious, bony, but delicious. Of course anything was delicious because I haven’t been able to eat the past few days because of the canker sores in my mouth. I am happy to report that this morning when I woke up they were GONE! I went from having painful sores where I couldn’t eat or smile to waking up this morning feeling nothing left. Prayers of the saints…

So today I had the opportunity to serve in the truest form possible. A gentleman came in with a deep cut on his under toe. He had stepped on something dirty and walked in bare feet through the dusty city to come for treatment. And when the script came in to pharmacy for ‘antibiotic cream to foot’ I was just going to put the cream in a baggie and send him on his way. But the doctor wanted the patient to be shown how to do his foot care for the following days and since nobody else wanted to do it I was sent out.

Although initially I was annoyed at having to leave my post to do teaching when I barely speak the language turned into a beautiful lesson in humanity. When I went into the room where the gentleman was sitting, immediately the word ‘servant’ came into my head. And all I could think was, ‘If you came here to serve here is a true opportunity to truly show a servants heart’.

The last night Jesus was alive on earth He washed the feet of His disciples. It was an act of love and humility. His disciples were shocked that He, their teacher and leader would stoop to wash their feet. And what was His response? “What I have done you are to do also.” There is actually so much that can be pulled out of that one account but today all I could think of was how I had to do likewise.

And so I got a wash basin, filled it with water, gathered supplies and knelt before this gentleman. Though I could speak no words that he could understand I took his foot, and soaked it in the basin of water. I washed it clean, patted it dry, and dressed his wounds. I did this knowing full well that I would be sending him out, still in his bare feet, still to walk the dirty roads. And I did this because he is worthy. I wanted to show him that although I am walking around with my fresh scrubs, and my clean hair and washed face that he is still my equal and I will gladly sit on the dirty floor and wash his feet.

What an amazing opportunity to show God’s love without ever saying the words.

One Love  xo


Leave a comment

Categories