Posted by: Charity Stace | November 29, 2010

Leftovers.

Have you ever gone through your fridge and discovered some leftovers that you forgot were there? Or begrudged eating the leftovers so you took something else out of your freezer of plenty deciding to save them for another day… only to throw them out?

Today I discovered that leftovers have the ability to bring about fits of sobbing and hysteria. And not because of the ‘Oh my goodness this is so gross can’t believe I forgot about it’ hysteria… Its more like ‘Oh my goodness can’t believe I am wasting this food after seeing so many malnourished children who would give anything for a plate of soggy rice and sloppy stew’.

I get that standards are different here in North America… I really do. But it doesn’t make it easier dealing with the trauma that follows as these things haunt me. I went to Costco the other day to get some groceries. I love Costco and all its bulk goodness. With donations I have received I have even purchased bulk supplies of vitamins to take to Haiti. But this time as I walked the aisles and saw the carts filled to overflowing it felt like I was being punched in the gut. I could not get out of there fast enough.

Or the other day at the store with my daughter… when I told her that I would not be buying the $5 toothpaste and Justin Bieber board game the look she gave me was very typical of a 13 year old girl who was being told ‘no’. I can guarantee that when I was her age I not only gave the look but I followed it up with the silent treatment. But as she gave me that look I was having a total meltdown in my head… ‘Don’t you know?? Don’t you know what I have just seen and heard? The children that don’t even know what half of your life consists of because the riches would be so foreign to them.?’

But she doesn’t know. And my son doesn’t know. Neither do many, many friends and family. And no matter how many strongly worded blogs I post there is that piece of me that can never convey the love and devotion I feel for the people of Haiti. Or how my heart breaks each time I hear of their suffering. How devastating it is when someone wants to change the subject from Haiti to their new car.

So I have purposed that I will keep Haiti in my secret place. I will guard and protect it with a fierce loyalty. But I will also continue to show love to those around me. Because truly I love them too. And I want to celebrate in the things that bring them joy. Because it brings me joy too.

And maybe, just maybe The Justin Bieber board game might find its way into my house.

 

Speaking of leftovers… what do you do with yours? Feel free to share your favorite leftover recipe!

 

One Love, ♥


Responses

  1. Hey Stacey, First of All I’m so Glad that You made it Back Home O.K. after all that is going on in Haiti and also that the Family you posted about got to go home! I Know how it is to go on a Mission and come Home and want to tell everyone about it but many don’t seem interested! But God Knows the Heart! He Knows Your Compassion for Others and that is Why He Will Continue to Bless and Use You for His Honor and Glory! I Know I Sound Like A Broke Record But I Am So Glad HE allowed us to Meet! I May not get to be on here for awhile I’m taking this Computer to the Shop tomorrow but I Continue to Pray for You and for Haiti! My Good Friends Gina and Jimmy Hudson are still down there! God BLess You as Always! Gary (John 15:13)

  2. Hey Stacey, I hear that you will be in kincardine this coming weekend. Would you be willing to do a 10 minute talk on your work in Haiti Sunday morning. I would love to have you let people know what’s happening on the ground there and your work there fits in well with what I’m speaking about Sunday – bringing a little bit of heaven to earth. Let me know if you can.

    Ray


Leave a comment

Categories