Posted by: Charity Stace | November 30, 2010

A worthy people…

So yesterday my local newspaper printed an article about my efforts in Haiti. At first I was embarrassed that it was not only printed but printed on the front page. And then I got to thinking that although the article was about me… it wasnt really about me. It was about the needs of Haiti. I might be biased but I think it deserves front page every day.

Anyway… here is the link to the article:

London Free Press – I couldnt just sit at home…

Now… return to the link and scroll over to the comments section.

Let me paste a few of them for you to read:

HARRY HAY
November 29th 2010, 5:01pm
dont our people need help here in our country ??  

there is a reason for mishaps earth quakes and floods ..it happens to keep

the population down aids down if u want to help send them some condoms

and instrutions how to use them ???

well said …

November 29th 2010, 5:56pm

very well said harry charity begins at home ..good luck to her if she wants to go there

Ugh. Really? I mean… really?  The sad thing is this attitude is not new. I have heard comments like this for months now. I try not to let is get to me but sometimes it is just too much. It is attitudes like this that make re-entry such a valid concern. It is attitudes like this that show how narrow-minded and heartless some people can be. Oh yeah. I went there. Because if these people had a shred of compassion they would not be saying such non-sense. It is attitudes like this that break the very heart of God…

And I sit here wondering… if these people are so against the work in other countries what are they doing to help their own? Taking warm coats to the homeless? Serving out hot food at the shelter? Handing out clean needles at the needle exchange programme? Time to put your money where your mouth is.

One other comment had potential to eat away at me:

Robert Foster

November 29th 2010, 7:45pm

Although she may be doing good work, I am concerned at pictures of her patients being posted on the internet for everyone to see. I hope that someone can confirm that consent was obtained from these patients, although I doubt that this is the case. Regardless, you wouldn’t take pictures of your patients from London to post on the internet. Why should your patients in Haiti be any different?

We must be respectful of the Haitian people while trying to help them through another difficult time.

– Rob
(Londoner currently volunteering in Haiti)

Yeah. He at least had a point worth pondering. But I want to make it clear that I always asked before I took a picture, or had a picture taken. And sometimes, if people saw my camera they would tug at the back of my scrub top and ask to have their picture taken. I sent an email to my sister this morning whining about the comment and bless her heart, this was her reply:

No, you wouldn’t take a picture of your patients in London to post on the internet.  But also, there is no serious epidemic happening in London right now that the world needs to know about and be aware of.
Don’t for even a second question yourself for putting those pictures up or feel guilty.  I will slap you.  You are putting a face to a news story.  Without pictures, people wouldn’t have a way to connect what they hear as ‘news’ to what is happening to actual human people with lives and families.  I don’t want to over-do it here with this… because I know that you will think I’m just saying this because I’m your sister….. but most of those Haitian people will never have their stores heard, have never before had their picture taken, they’ve never known that they were worth having their picture taken.  What better place to pause and take their picture then when they have been to the lowest point humanity can get to.  You took pictures because you want to REMEMBER, and you wanted to bring their stories back and share them with douchewads.
I’m sorry that other people don’t get to see the intentions you had when you did all the things you did.  Don’t get angry or bitter…. I love you.

Do I even need to follow it up with more words?


This father sat and wept at his sons bedside… fearful for his life.

This mother and daughter both came in needing treatment. Both are visibly soiled. Both too sick to care.

…most of those Haitian people will never have their stores heard, have never before had their picture taken, they’ve never known that they were worth having their picture taken.  Matthew 10:29 – 31…  Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? Yet not one of them will fall to the ground outside your Father’s care. 30 And even the very hairs of your head are all numbered. 31 So don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.

One Love, ♥


Responses

  1. I don’t know you, but have been following your blog for that past couple of weeks. Your stories have encouraged me and challenged me. Having also been to Haiti a year ago, my heart breaks for the people there and the challenges they are facing, especially since the earthquake. I have also heard comments like the ones you posted, but that can’t stop everyone else from doing what they feel is right. Keep doing what you’re doing! It has already made a bigger difference than you can imagine and will continue to make a difference.

    • Hi Vanessa
      Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment. It only takes one time to fall in love with the people of Haiti doesnt it? People dont understand what they dont understand… I will pray for them that their hearts will soften and break for the things that break Gods heart…
      Because He Lives,
      Stacey

  2. Hey Stacey,
    Hang in there Girl! I’ve heard some of the same things over and over! These People don’t see the Big Picture! As the Lord said ” In that you have done it unto the Least of the MY BRETHREN You have DONE IT UNTO ME!” I know you aren’t doing for yourself but for the Lord! That is my Drive and Motivation to Serve Him in Serving Others where ever they may be! God Bless! Love You in the Lord! Gary(John 15:13)

    • Gary, I keep saying it but truly I am grateful that we met all those months ago in the airport. Your words of encouragement lift me up time and time again.
      Blessings unlimited on you my friend!
      Because He Lives,
      Stacey

  3. Very irritated by the heartless comments. I often wonder, when people say things like that…..what THEY are doing RIGHT HERE in our world to help.

    If they saw the struggles, the hunger, the way they liive, they would FALL THE THE GROUND sobbing and repent for saying such hurtful things.

  4. Becca is completely right, don’t let those hearltess people bring you down. Pray for them that their eyes may be opened; they clearly don’t know the Lord. I think Satan often uses these kinds of situations to bring us down and make us doubt ourselves and the significance of our efforts in Christ. You’re doing the right thing; keep your eyes focused on God and He will take care of the rest. Much love xo

    • Thanks for the encouragement Tasha! I appreciate you following along with the blogs and taking time out to leave comments and words of encouragement. It means so much to me. Bless you!

  5. Hi Stacey,

    I read the article about you in the LFP a week ago, and found it a very remarkable and inspiring story. Speaking as one who has gone on relief and mission trips myself, I understand the emotional challenges you must face when you arrive back home to our North American “bubble”. Certain critical comments left on your article, I imagine, did not help. Fortunately, they are few and far between. There will always be those who focus on the lines on a map, which hinders their vision to see beyond that bubble.

    I pray your work endures…regardless of those lines.
    Steve

  6. Thanks for this Stacey.
    God bless you.

    Johannes


Leave a comment

Categories