Posted by: Charity Stace | April 3, 2011

Mademoiselle Jumelle and The Cutting Board

There is one kitchen lady, Mademoiselle Jumelle, who lives in the barracks during the week and after dinner on Friday she returns home to her family. She is not married and has no children so to her the arrangement works. The other kitchen staff all pile into a truck at the end of the day and return home to their children and loved ones.

After eating dinner one evening, which is served in metal bowls and is always too much, I was on my way to brush my teeth and I passed M. Jumelle as she getting in a truck to leave the compound. I said my typical ‘Bonne-nuit’ (goodnight) and smiled as I walked past, thinking it was strange that she would leave on a week night but that was the only thought I gave it.

Imagine my surprise when I got back to the barracks (and by barracks I mean steam room/dorm) and saw her getting ready for bed. I smiled and said, ‘Bonne-nuit encore une fois’ (goodnight again). She looked at me a little strange but returned the words with a smile and went to bed.

From time to time on each trip I liked to give her little gifts. In the ladies room (I like to call the tarantula/cockroach/shower room the ladies room… it does come with towel service after all) one time I gave her some body spray, in the barracks a little necklace. One day I gave all the kitchen ladies new toothbrushes and toothpaste… may not seem like much but they were pretty excited. And later that evening M Jumelle found me in the ladies room and said she missed out and did I have any more. I thought it strange since I remember we hugged but I did not want to embarrass her, and besides it was only a toothbrush so I gave her another.


Have I built this up enough? Can you see where this is going? Sadly, I did not have the nice little memory video playback that you see in movies where the puzzle all fits together (remember the Sixth sense? I did not see that one coming either!) so it took me a bit longer to realize that M. Jumelle has a twin sister. And they share the gifts which apparently I was giving both of them.

Anyway… as it turns out I became quite good friends with M. Jumelle. As good of friends as one can be when you do not understand a word the other is saying. I had a friend once in Grade 3, her name was Ola Zobelle. She and her family has just moved from Warsaw, Polland and she could not speak a lick of English. And I loved her instantly. Our friendship consisted of slow loud speaking (because when there is a language barrier it is custom to also yell as of course they are also deaf) and awkward charades.

But I digress.

Each morning M. Jumelle is sitting and waiting to serve breakfast until I come in then we embrace and cheek kiss. Then this exchange follows:

Me: Ca va? (you are good?)
Her: Qui, ca va bien et toi? (yes, I am good and you?)
Me: Ca va bien aussie. A tu une bonne nuit? (I am also good. Did you have a good night)
Her: Qui. Ou travaille tu au jour dui? (Yes, where will you work today)
Me: Cite Soleil Clinic. Je retourner a la compound a 3 heure. (Clinic. I will be back at 3 oclock)
Her: Lots and lots of french/creole.
Me: Well… Bonne journee. (Well… Have a good day)
Her: Je taime belle cheri (I love you sweet girl)
Me: Moi aussie (me too)

And then at the end of the day at dinner the exact same exchange takes place all over again. It’s a beautiful friendship.

On my last evening Mademoiselle Jumelle asked to see me in the kitchen. She handed me a gift, wrapped in beautiful Haitian wrap, with a card attached. The card read (translated):

The Sisters Jumelle wish to thank you for the acts of kindness and love that you show towards us. Also thank you for your help with the our country Haiti. Your gesture of kindness will never be forgotten. God bless you.


And when I opened the present it was a flat, red, rectangle. I flipped it over and saw the same. And it took me a second to realize that they were gifting me with a cutting board. Just like that. No rhyme or reason but they wanted to give me something and they gave me a plastic red cutting board.

So random. And so meaningful. I mean… they wrapped it in the finest wrapping paper. They even bought a card. And the smile on her face as she had me open it – she was beaming. Like a mother on Christmas morning so excited for her little one to open the most amazing gift ever! And to me, it was.

When I got home the following night I was delighted to find that my kids had made an effort to clean the house, tidy their rooms and even wash the dishes. As they toured me around to show me their work we came into the kitchen and they said, ‘Oh by the way mom, when you were gone we broke the cutting board.’


One Love, ♥


Responses

  1. I loved this. And they both love you. I didn’t know about your red cutting board. I love seeing God in something as little as a kitchen tool. Thanks for sharing. We miss you friend!

  2. Wow, Simply Amazing ( :
    I always get a lump in my throat when I read your Haiti blogs.

    Blessings


Leave a comment

Categories