Posted by: Charity Stace | March 14, 2011

Kintsugi ~ Golden Joinery

Today my heart is heavy for all the suffering in the world. Most recently from watching the aftermath of the earthquake and tsunami that just devastated Japan…
I have struggled in trying to post something that is full of hope in light of more tragedy and it lead me to think about the art of Kintsugi (I stumbled upon this a few months back)… It is a practice in Japan where they mend cracked or broken ceramics with gold, rendering the piece even more beautiful than it started out. The idea behind it is not to hide the ugliness and brokenness but instead to use gold to make it shine; to illuminate and expose the damage. And at the end of the process the piece is even more beautiful having been broken.

That is my prayer for not only the people of Japan but for anyone who has been cracked. Instead of viewing the cracks, the hurts and pains as a thing of shame and ugliness why not use them as an opportunity to shine? Let God in His perfect artistry take the piece in His hands and repair it to the thing of beauty that He intended.

  

Today I am hopeful for the people of Japan. I am hopeful that they will overcome. And hopeful that the cracks will be mended with gold, and the beauty of the brokenness will shine through.
Safe travels and prayers of protection to friends and other volunteers travelling to Japan today. I know you will be a beacon of light to those who so desperately need to know that their cracked bowls can be transformed into a thing of splendor.
One Love, ♥






Responses

  1. Stacie, i think your back home now? safe &sound although our hearts go out to all the terribly sick & all the babies I know you did your best but being there first hand i hnow it will not leave you for a long time if ever only GOD can help take away some of the pain & sorrow you will endure ,but GOO will bless you for work lol may GOD bless you .xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  2. Very Beautiful Analogy of Before and after Christ in our Lives! God Bless You Woman of God! (John 15:13)

  3. Hello Stacey,
    you have taken a picture of http://www.kintsugi.de/
    I allow you this, because your work is good and important. But it would have been nice if you had asked me. I put your blog in my Blogroll so that your work is known.

    All the best
    Stefan

    • Hi Stefan,
      Thank you for leaving me a message – I found your pic in google images! I am sorry to use it without permission, I am not too literate in the cyber world. Thank you for permission is using this photo, I can link it to your website if you send me the URL?
      Blessings,
      Stacey

  4. Hi Stacey,

    yes, link my picture to http://www.kintsugi.de/

    thank you.

    Stefan


Leave a comment

Categories