Posted by: Charity Stace | August 26, 2010

Haiti – Crayons and Pictures…

So today at the clinic a few of the interpreters were tired. When I asked them why they confessed it was because they were up late listening to music. They truly cannot thank you all enough for the MP3 players. Funny enough I loaded the players with gospel music including Kirk Franklin, Deitrick Haddon, Israel Houghton… and don’t get me wrong – they love it. But their favorite music? Michael W Smith and Steven Curtis Chapman!

Today was another great day. Yesterday while going through random boxes to see what sort of supplies we had to work with I came across a box filled with colouring sheets and crayons. So first thing this morning while the patients were lined up for clinic (they start lining up at 0600) I handed them out to all the children to colour. What  a great way to keep their minds off the heat and unwell! And then we taped them up on all the walls. They were so proud of their work and prouder still to see it up on display for everyone to see. Even a few mothers took crayons and paper and sat colouring… I used to love colouring with my kids (and sometimes without them).

As the kids sat and coloured I walked around with my camera and took pictures. It was just a fun morning (slacking off) and spending time with the patients who were just waiting for triage. There was one older lady who kept wanting me to take her photo because she thought the playback was the funniest thing she had ever seen. Every time I would show her the picture she would laugh and laugh and then her laughter would get everyone else around her laughing.

I hope that when I get home I remember these simple moments that brought smiles to my face and to those around me. When I am stressed because bills are piling up or because of the expense of 2 new wardrobes for back to school I think I should have a video collage of the silly pics that brought smiles and giggles. Often times I give the camera over to the children to take pictures of each other. More times than not they never turn out but they have fun running around and snapping photos. Remember the brand new camera that I bought for my last trip? Well it has been through the ringer. Often times it won’t even turn on properly or it gives me an error message. It is cracked and chipped and I could care less.  You can hardly see the playback image because it is covered with dirty little fingerprints from the children who love to point themselves out in the photo or from the masses who crowd around saying ‘hey you hey you’…  It’s just a thing. I love to have it so I can capture the precious moments but I know that their are some images that the camera could never capture. Some moments and expressions that will be etched in my soul (fromage, I know but it’s so very true).

So Cite Soleil clinic has the luxury of a generator which means electricity which means we can listen to music. Today while we were listening to music a group of the interpreters who were in the room with me became very quiet and almost solemn. Because I hate not knowing what everyone is thinking and doing at all times I immediately went up to them and pestered them to tell me what was bothering them…

Kidding!

One of the guys came over to me (while I was working away minding my own business) and apologized for the quietness. He began to share with me about the history of the clinic. I think I knew this part but had forgotten, that the clinic was there before the earthquake happened. Another organization was using it for the same purposes, and a few of the interpreters worked there before Samaritan’s Purse came along. These boys soon became like family to each other (much like it is in any work place).  On January 12, they lost their close friend in the earthquake. They were devastated, to say the least. And today as we were listening to music his favourite song came on and their discussion turned from silly jokes and playing to reminiscing.

And then Eddie, one of the interpreters, pulled out his wallet and took out a picture that he had stored away in it. Not a picture of siblings or of family or even his girlfriend. It was a picture of the group of them smiling and posing for a photo. This was touching to me not just because of the sentimental value but if you can imagine the length he went to just to have a print of this picture. It’s not like you can just take in a memory card to the local Black’s Photography shop…  But he went to the trouble of getting it made to carry with him. (The lost friend is the one in the middle in the blue and white striped shirt)

And then once again I am reminded why I am here. What it was that drew me here in the first place was not the booming voice of the Lord saying “Go Forth into the land of Haiti and do good’. No, it wasn’t that. And just like that the headlines flashed again through my mind. It was a bittersweet moment for me as I realized that if it weren’t for the earthquake I would never have come to this country that has now captured my heart and soul. I can’t imagine what it must be like to carry the memory of the events that took place here during and following the earthquake. But I know that I will do my best to honour those whose lives were lost by remembering every day to love and to forgive.

3 more sleeps. That’s all I have left. I can hardly stand to think about it.

One Love


Leave a comment

Categories